Enjoying nature on a pilgrimage, © weinfranz.at

The stages of the Via Sacra

The Via Sacra can be walked in 4 to 6 day’s stages.

The pilgrimage trail is a moderately demanding hike offering many sights of art historical or folkloristic significance. The ideal completion time of the pilgrimage hike from Brunn am Gebirge to Mariazell is five day’s stages. However, the route can also be walked in ambitious four days or leisurely in six day’s stages—depending on your individual needs and fitness.

The stages

The Via Sacra in 5 stages (recommended route):

The Via Sacra in 4 stages: